March 22, 2007 - Special





Mayor Steve Fennewald called the special meeting to order at 5:05p.m. Present were Council Members Terry Johnson, Blaine Klein, Dana Larsen, Kevin Nelsen, and Laura Volk.  Also present were City Engineer Alan Estvold of Ackerman-Estvold Engineering, City Attorney Deb Hoffarth, Public Works Supervisor Frank Wollschlager, and City Auditor Elaine Christianson.  Absent was Council Member Jarvis Sasse. 


The special meeting was held to discuss Lafarge North America including the zone change request, potential annexation, water district issues, and sewer issues.


Discussion was held regarding Lafarge North America not signing the annexation agreement drawn up by City Attorney Hoffarth.  Instead, Lafarge North America provided a letter regarding annexation.  Discussion was held regarding the annexation date of January 1, 2009 and the lack of wording regarding successors to the property.  Attorney Hoffarth advised Council that Lafarge North America’s annexation letter would not be binding if the property were sold prior to the City of Surrey annexing Lafarge North America.  Realtor Larry Sundbakken stated he felt Dean Kinney, Maintenance Manager/Safety Director of Lafarge North America, would have no problem adding the appropriate successor wording.  Larsen made a motion to approve the second reading of the zone change for Lafarge North America contingent on successor wording being added to the letter received by Lafarge North America.  Nelsen seconded.  Roll call vote:  Volk – aye; Klein – aye; Larsen – aye; Nelsen – aye; Johnson – aye.  All aye, motion carried. 


Christianson held discussion with Council regarding annexation of land serviced by North Prairie Rural Water District.  According to North Dakota Century Code, the water district must be fairly compensated for losses resulting from annexation by a city.  Christianson requested Fennewald, Larsen, and Klein to attend the North Prairie Rural Water District Board meeting on March 29, 2007 at 7:00a.m. to start negotiations.  Council advised Christianson to draft an informal letter to the residents of Outlot 1 regarding possible annexation.


Attorney Deb Hoffarth exited the meeting at 5:45 p.m.


Discussion held regarding sewer projects and economic development grant information.  Discussion also held regarding special assessment districts and processes.  Motion made by Volk, seconded by Klein, to create a resolution of sponsorship for the Community Development Loan Fund Application for the economic development grant.  Roll call vote:  Volk – aye; Klein – aye; Larsen – aye; Nelsen – aye; Johnson – aye.  All aye, motion carried.


No other business to discuss, motion to adjourn by Klein.  Johnson seconded.  All aye, meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.